Middle East Filipinos

Filipino Hospitality Workers in-demand in Canada

Posted by Admin on June 24, 2007

Canada is currently experiencing shortage in tourism and hospitality workers such as food servers and housekeeping workers. According to some reports, Canadian employers consider hiring Filipino workers to fill the vacancy. For the 2007-08 season, Chemistry Consulting and Success Immigration has put up an office in Cebu, will be recruiting 300 Filipino. 

 The recruitment started in 2006 since then, they never stop seeking for Filipino workers to work in Vancouver Island’s west coast. They different channel of advertisement locally and across the country but still there’s a shortage of 10 to 20 workers.

Wickaninnish Inn in Tofino Resort is expecting six Filipino workers in the coming weeks and this would be the start of a long-term program of recruitment of foreign workers. Qualified workers will stay in the resort’s worker living units. 

According to Charles McDiarmid, managing director of Tofino’s up-market in Wickaninnish Inn, they will encourage Tofino grocers to stock Filipino food items and through creation of a network with other operators employing Filipinos to nurture a “community atmosphere.” Wickaninnish Inn is set to pay Chemistry Consulting and Success Immigration $2,500 per worker. This includes: $500 per worker payable at the beginning of recruitment agreement; $1,000 per worker payable on the date of issuance of the work visa; $1,000 per worker payable on the date the worker arrives in Canada. Expenses include return airfare of up to $2,000; local health-care expenses of $54 per month per worker; and a visa fee of $150.

Filipino applicants who will qualify in the position will pay $55 administration fee to the Philippine Overseas Employment Agency (POEA); medical check-up fees; the amount of NBI certificate valid to travel abroad and, cost of an international driver’s license if they want to drive while in Canada, and other living cost during their stay in the country. 

According to the spokesperson for British Columbia and Yukon Hotel Association (BCYHA), Ashley Haslett, Filipino workers like room attendants, housekeeping and cleaning staff are also expected to come in to Whistler and the Okanagan this year.

10 Responses to “Filipino Hospitality Workers in-demand in Canada”

  1. Anna Katrina said

    that’s a good opportunity for us but is it real?

  2. Lea said

    Hi, how do I go about applying for this? Can you tell me the steps?

  3. Hi! Iam Filipino by birth but now I obtain a German citizenship.I have the idea to look for a new challenge in Canada. I am ready to be relocated by January 2008. I can do all household job &also babysitting.Highly educated & 15 years experieced as Babysitter &Housekeeping.
    Can you help me find the right job in Canada?
    Thanks. Hope to hear from you.

    Nelly.

  4. tolits said

    Hi
    Hello! how can i apply in canada as a asst.cook can u help me ? I was working in Kuwait as asst. cook in Italian Restaurant for almost 4 years and 7 months After my contract I was transfered to starbucks U.S.Camp Arifjan branch We serve thousand U.S. soldiers in Kuwait too. I came back to the Philippines last Dec 3 2006. As of now I am looking
    a better opportunity for my career growthh.

  5. Rachel S. Cabador said

    hello, im very interested working in Canada eventhough i was employed here in Iloilo, Philippines. How can i apply here when its not posted in the POEA that certain availability of job? Can you send me an email how to apply? Thank you hope to recieve your email soon.

  6. sherryl said

    good day! i just want to ask regarding the wickaninnish’s workers’ living units..will it be possible to change or find another apartment and not live in their said units?

  7. hi! i would like to apply as a babysitter/ caretaker in canada. i have so many years of experience as a caretaker. looking after baby and elderly is my forte. can you help me how to apply and the necessary documents needed. thank you and hope to hear from you soon.

  8. Rogelio said

    Hi! I’ll grab this great opportunity.
    Im Rogelio,24,single,Filipino,above average English & interpersonal skills.
    I have a degree in Business Administration major in Management but
    I took up a shortcourse in hotel housekeeping by TESDA.
    I also had an OJT/ work practice in a hotel.
    I’m willing to apply as a hotel attendant/housekeeper.
    I’ll be more than willing to be trained and to take exam if needed.
    May I know what are the requirements?
    Pls do send me the requirements and qualifications thru e-mail.
    Thanks!

  9. Edesa said

    Hi..I’m Edesa 25, single, in good health, filipino.I graduated at La Salle here in Bacolod City, Philippines..I’m a graduate of BS in Commerce major in Business Management..And i am presently working here as a bookeeper..but i am willing to apply especially in canada..can you send me an application form at my e-mail add..Thank You..God Bless

  10. Mr. Pacis said

    Dear sir/mam

    Im M. Pacis working hir in Saudi Arabia for 3 years as a bakery manager, Im planning to work in Canada. I have an experience for 5 years in McDonalds Philippines. Can you help me to find a good agency to apply.

    Thank you very much in advance and I look forward for your possitive response as soon as posssible.

    Sincerely,

    Mr. Pacis

Leave a Reply

 
